The Three Types of Single Friend

Before anyone calls me out for “putting people into boxes”, let me say that I understand that not everyone will fit into one of these categories, or they may, like myself, fit into all three of them. This post, and the accompanying video are just meant to outline the three most common types of single friend that most of us have come across at some point in our lives. Something I should point out before you get to the video though, is that I believe that everyone who is single has, in fact, chosen to be single. There is no magic relationship genie watching over you waiting to give you that perfect “meet cute” you see in the movies where you take the wrong cup at Starbucks and end up having an adorably awkward conversation with a handsome guy who just happens to be around your age with a great job and an even greater sense of humour. Instead, it is up to you to find love, should you choose to do so. This also isn’t to say that everyone you’re interested in will be interested in you, but you don’t know if you don’t try and you don’t get what you don’t ask for. –I’m just full of cliche sayings today, aren’t I?– Anyway! Without further ado here is my video titled “The Three Most Common Types of Single Friend”

That clip I shared near the end of the video is from a show called My Mad Fat Diary and if you’ve ever struggled with any kind of self confidence issue, Rae Earl is probably your spirit animal. Unfortunately for me, the only ways I am not like Rae Earl are that I am missing the awesome British accent and cool leather jacket she always seems to be sporting. I understand feeling like you aren’t worth it sometimes, but I’m here to tell you that you are, even if no-one else will. If you want to be single, stay single, if you want someone, give it time, because the worst thing you can do is rush into something you either aren’t ready for or aren’t fully invested in. Most of all though, just remember to be happy with yourself, because at the end of the day, you’re the one who has to live with your decisions.

Leave a Reply

